R.I.P. Ramon Dekkers 4 September 1969 – 27 February 2013

I’ve just heard the sad news that Thai Boxer/Kickboxer Ramon Dekkers has tragically passed away following a heart attack at age 43.

Ramon-Dekkers1

I can’t claim to be the world’s biggest Muay Thai fan and my position has always been of an interested but only semi-informed observer. There will be others far better placed to wax lyrical about Dekkers’ talent and skill.

What I can say is that Dekkers was one of the few Nak Muays I’d heard of. From my understanding he was the first Westerner to have real success on the Thai circuit and while his achievements are sometimes overstated they do not take away from his legitimacy. He paved the way for the many Western Thai Boxers who have followed him and had a style perfectly adjusted to the world of highlight videos

So here’s to Dekkers.

Thoughts with his family and friends.

Leave a Reply

